**Mom’s 60th Bday Party**

My mom is one of my best friends, my biggest cheerleader, and the person who taught me that it’s OK to be a strong woman.   I’ve always known that I could  never re-pay my mom for the years of countless sacrifices and support she has given me, my dad and my brother…..but when her 60th birthday rolled, I figured that I could at least start the process!! I decided that after all of the over-the-top birthday parties, amazing family dinners and special surprises she had given us growing up, she deserved a surprise of her own.  So I set up an undercover surprise party in my own backyard with 60 of her closest friends and family members (a lady with a big heart like my mom acquires many close friends after 60 years!)

We threw together a grey and fuschia inspired event with a few special touches.  Florals were done by the great Kate Baker, and these beautiful photos below were taken by one of my recent clients and talented photog, Ashleigh Taylor:

 

 

The birthday girl herself…as she walked in.  She is as nosy as they come, so I thought she would totally sniff out the plans, but somehow she managed to be completely surprised that day!

 

We decided to forego passed appetizers for cocktail hour and open up a mashed potato bar stocked with martini glasses…..it was a huge huge hit with our guests!  

 

 

I figured a regular ol’ birthday cake would not do my mom justice, so we decided to go for an entire dessert table spread instead, sprinkled full of treats ranging from DIY yummies by yours truly, to Trader Joe’s, to Vanilla Bake Shop!

 

And I’ll end with a picture of me and the birthday girl…..don’t be fooled by her tiny stature, there is alot of spunk and heart in that little lady~! 

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ashleigh said,

    it was an amazing party and your mom is just lovely!!! so glad to be a part of it!!! ❤

  2. 2

    That looks delicious! You did such an amazing job… love all the detail. and the shot of you and your mom TOO cute!

  3. 3

    Jessi Kaufman said,

    Amazing! Simply amazing!

  4. 4

    this is so sweet. i love seeing daughters spoil their mommies!

  5. 5

    Cute as usual…I got some great ideas for an event I have coming up in February with my familia. Thanks Paola!!!

  6. 6

    Paola, I love the picture of you and your Mom. This post was so sweet!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

